INTERNATIONAL SKATING UNION

HEADQUARTERS ADDRESS: AVENUE JUSTE-OLIVIER 17 CH 1006 LAUSANNE SWITZERLAND TELEPHONE (+41) 21 612 66 66 TELEFAX (+41) 21 612 66 77 E-MAIL: media@isu.ch

Press release May 04, 2017

Skaters and Coaches appointments to ISU Technical Committees

When the 2016 ISU Congress decided to create an Athletes Commission (please refer to: http://www.isu.org/en/about-isu/athletes-commission), it was also decided that the elected Athletes will join the respective ISU Technical Committee.

However, the ISU Congress also decided that if an elected Athlete is still actively competing, then the ISU Council shall appoint another not actively competing Skater of the concerned discipline to the respective ISU Technical Committee (Please refer to Article 20/1 of the ISU Constitution).

This case applies to all ISU Technical Committees except the Single & Pair Skating Technical Committee since Mr. John Coughlin (USA), who is not competing anymore, will join this committee.

The ISU Council has appointed the following Skaters to join the respective Technical Committees:

Ice Dance Ms. Nathalie Pechalat (France)
Synchronized Skating Ms. Roberta Giuliani (Italy)
Speed Skating Ms. Beixing Wang (China)
Short Track Speed Skating Mr. Christoph Milz (Germany)

In line with Article 20/2.e) of the ISU Constitution, the Council also appointed the following Coaches to the respective Technical Committees:

Single & Pair Skating
Ice Dance
Synchronized Skating
Speed Skating
Short Track Speed Skating
Mr. Patrick Meier (Switzerland)
Mr. Maurizio Margaglio (Italy)
Ms. Catherine Dalton (Canada)
Mr Oystein Haugen (Norway)
Mr. Wim De Deyne (Belgium)