

HEADQUARTERS ADDRESS PHONE (+41) 21 612 66 66 AVENUE JUSTE-OLIVIER 17 - CH 1006 LAUSANNE - SWITZERLAND FAX (+41) 21 612 66 7 E-MAIL media@isu.ch

Press release

07 January 2018

Mass Start titles for Lollobrigida and Blokhuijsen

Francesca Lollobrigida (ITA) and Jan Blokhuijsen (NED) sprinted to victory in the ladies' and men's Mass Start events on Day 3 of the ISU European Single Distance Speed Skating Championships in Kolomna on Sunday. The Netherlands won the Ladies' and Men's Team Pursuit events, while the Russian ladies and men took gold in the Team Sprint events.

Lollobrigida takes well-deserved Mass Start title

Lollobrigida powered to victory in the Ladies' Mass Start, while her compatriot and namesake Francesca Bettrone took silver, and Vanessa Herzog (AUT) grabbed the bronze medal.

Tatsiana Mikhailava (BLR) was the first one to attack in the 16-lap Mass Start race and everyone looked at Lollobrigida to counter. The Italian favorite did catch the Belarussian escapee straight away and went on controlling the entire race.

Dutch Carlijn Achereekte tried to get away, but Lollobrigida countered and when Annouk van der Weijden tried to jump, again Lollobrigida countered.

Saskia Alusalu attacked in the penultimate lap, but Lollobrigida did not allow the Estonian skater any space.

Heading into the final corner, Lollobrigida and Bettrone were in the lead with Victoria Filyushkina (RUS) struggling to position herself for the sprint in third place. The Russian crashed out while Lollobrigida went on to win. The Austrian 500m champion Vanessa Herzog managed to take third place behind Lollobrigida and Bettrone.

Blokhuijsen seals victory in Dutch team effort

Jan Blokhuijsen (NED) won the Men's Mass Start thanks to a great deal of work by team-mate Simon Schouten (NED). After a couple of attacks by amongst others Vitaly Mikhailov (BLR), Mathias Vosté (BEL) and Marcin Bachanek (POL) and Schouten, the race stalled.

No one wanted to take the initiative until again Schouten and Andrea Giovannini (ITA) tried to set up an escape with about 6 laps to go.

They were hauled in and Schouten pulled in front of the pack to set up a final sprint for Blokhuijsen, who came from behind Haralds Silovs' (LAT) back on the penultimate straight, with a powerful sprint to the line. Giovannini finished second and Ruslan Zakharov (RUS) grabbed bronze.



HEADQUARTERSADDRESSAVENUE JUSTE-OLIVIER 17CH1006LAUSANNE- SWITZERLANDPHONE(+41) 21 612 66 66FAX(+41) 21 612 66 7E-MAILmedia@isu.ch

Dutch dominate Team Pursuit events

The Netherlands took gold in both the men's and ladies' Team Pursuit events.

Without absent anchor Sven Kramer, Dutch Jan Blokhuijsen, Marcel Bosker and Simon Schouten clocked 3 minutes, 42.79 seconds in the eight-lap race.

The Dutch men chased Russia, which had set 3:44.59 in the first race. Danila Semerikov, Sergey Gryaztsov, Aleksandr Rumyantsev (RUS) were slightly faster halfway through the race, but the Dutch men were better in the second part.

Schouten, who already showed his stamina when he won the Dutch marathon title in Utrecht last week, took his teammates in the draft for a the final lap with 13.7 and 13.9 split times. The Russians finished with 14.8 and 14.9 to stop the clock at 3:44.59, which was 1.80 slower than the Dutch. Russia had to settle for silver.

Poland (Jan, Szymanski, Adrian Wielgat, Zbigniew Bródka), who clocked 3:52.60 in their race versus the Netherlands, edged out Norway for the bronze medal. Fredrik van der Horst, Runar Njatun Krøyer, Magnus Bakken Haugli (NOR) skated 3:53.02 to finish fourth.

Italy started fast in the final race, but Andrea Giovannini was not able to follow the pace of team mates Nicola Tumolero and Riccardo Bugari. The team eventually had to settle for 3:53.08 and fifth place.

Dutch ladies beat Russia and Germany

Marrit Leenstra, Melissa Wijfje and Lotte van Beek (NED), who had set a new Dutch Team Pursuit record in Salt Lake City last December, stopped the clock in 2:59.34 after their six-lap race.

Russia's Olga Graf, Yekaterina Shikhova and Natalia Voronina took silver in 3:01.88 and Germany's Roxanne Dufter, Gabriele Hirschbichler and Michelle Uhrig grabbed bronze in 3:05.03, despite a crash on the final straight.

Russian sprinters win Team Events

Both the Russian men and the Russian ladies' took gold in the Team Sprint events.

In the Men's event Ruslan Murashov and Pavel Kuliznikov (RUS) started a little to fast for team mate Denis Yuskov, who had to take care of the final lap. Yuskov managed to pull back in time and was launched into the final lap at high pace. Yuskov skated an unmatched 25.6 second final lap to stop the clock at 1:19.38.

The Netherlands had set the second-best time in 1:19.76, but Michel Mulder, Hein Otterspeer and Koen Verweij were disqualified because of an irregular change. Otterspeer took over the lead too early when Mulder had a miss-stroke coming out of the inner corner.

Finland's Harri Levo, Pekka Koskela and Mika Poutala stopped the clock at 1:21.19 for silver, and Poland's Artur Nogal, Piotr Michalski and Sebastian Klosinski took bronze in 1:21.29.



HEADQUARTERSADDRESSAVENUE JUSTE-OLIVIER 17CH1006LAUSANNESWITZERLANDPHONE(+41) 21 612 66 66FAX(+41) 21 612 66 7E-MAILmedia@isu.ch

Russian ladies win three horse race

Three nations started in the ladies' Team Sprint. Russia's Angelina Golikova, Olga Fatkulina and Elizaveta Kazelina took gold in 1:26.71.

Dutch Mayon Kuipers, Sanneke de Neeling and Letitia de Jong finished in 1:28.65 to grab silver and Norway's Martine Ripsrud, Anne Gulbrandsen and Sofi Karoline Haugen took bronze in 1:31.88.

Full <u>results and classifications</u>. Follow the discussion on social media by using **#EuroSpeed** and **#SpeedSkating** and watch the live stream on the <u>ISU Skating Channel</u>.

For further information please contact: Selina Vanier ISU Communications Coordinator <u>media@isu.ch</u> Tel: +41 21 612 66 66