ISU.ORG



Communication No. 2364 Synchronized Skating On-line Element Evaluation 2

Purpose

The first Synchronized Skating Online Element Evaluation (ISU Communication No. 2351) provided an opportunity for International and Championship Synchronized Skating Teams to have up to three (3) SyS Elements evaluated by ISU and International Officials. 48 Teams and 85 Officials were able to take advantage of this opportunity, but unfortunately many Teams were unable to participate during the timeframe.

To support the continued interest and success of the first session, a second session will be offered to provide Teams who were unable to participate, or unable to send the full allowance of three (3) elements, with the same opportunity.

Panels of Judges, comprised of ISU and International Officials, will be designated by the ISU SySTC. Each Panel of Judges will include one (1) Referee from the Technical Committee plus up to seven (7) Judges from different ISU Members. The Officials will work independently, only awarding Grades of Execution (GOE) to the Elements submitted for review. A common debriefing with the Judges will be done at the end of their evaluations to provide participating Officials with an opportunity to practice their evaluation skills for the upcoming season and to ask questions about the current rules.

Technical Panels, comprised of ISU and International Officials, will also be designated by the ISU SySTC. Each Technical Panel will include one (1) Technical Controller and two (2) Technical Specialists. A member of the SySTC will act as a Data Input Operator. The Technical Panel will be comprised of different ISU Members and will work independently first, and then meet online to reach a consensus on Element levels and remarks. A debriefing will also be done during this on-line meeting to discuss and ensure a common understanding of the current Element requirements and Rules.

Judging panel **GOE marks** and Technical Panel **levels** will be entered on-line within a specific timeframe. No overall results will be published.

A debriefing of the On-line Element Evaluations will be scheduled for each participating Coach/Team. The Referee and a member of the Technical Panel, both from the Technical Committee, will participate in each individual on-line meeting and will provide a summary of comments from the Technical Panel and Judges evaluations for each Element submitted.

Content

Teams will have the opportunity to first register for their participation in the On-line Element Evaluation. Teams can submit up to three (3) different Elements and they may be from either the Short and/or Free Program.

NOTE: One (1) Element must be the No Hold Element (NHE). The remaining two (2) Elements are of the Teams/Coaches choice.

Teams will be required to send a good quality video of the Element(s), taken from a slightly elevated position. Optimal location of the videographer would be where the Technical Panel is usually seated

during a competition. Guidelines and further information will be sent to the Teams regarding video requirements and the process to submit video(s).

Participants:

Junior and Senior Teams who were not able to participate in the first session, or Teams who could not submit all three (3) Element videos, are invited to participate.

Project Duration:

The timeframe February 22 to March 13, 2021.

JUNIOR & SENIOR Teams

Submission of videos for both categories is February 22-28, 2021. (Videos received after February 28, 2021 will not be accepted).

Evaluation of the Elements March 4-7, 2021

Debriefing of Teams March 8-13, 2021

Registration Deadline

Registrations must be received by January 25, 2021

How to Register

An e-mail stating the Teams request to register for participation in the On-Line Element Evaluation must be received on or before the deadline. The e-mail may be sent from the ISU Member OR directly from the Teams' Coach and must contain the name of the Team(s), name and e-mail of the Coach, category (Senior/Junior), and the number of Elements to be evaluated per Team.

Registration e-mails must be sent to the following by January 25, 2021:

Mr. Philippe Maitrot, Chair of the SySTC: p.maitrot73@gmail.com

Ms. Lois Long, member of the SySTC: mrsloislong@gmail.com

Late Registration and/or video submissions will not be accepted.

Tubbergen,
December 17, 2020
Lausanne,

Jan Dijkema, President

Fredi Schmid, Director General