PRESS RELEASE ISU.ORG



April 12, 2019

Helsinki, Finland

Ida Hellström (FIN) is elected to the ISU Athletes Commission

Today Ida Hellström from Finland was elected to the ISU Athletes Commission as the Synchronized Skating representative.

Further to the decision of the 56th ISU Ordinary Congress 2016 in Dubrovnik (CRO) to introduce an ISU Athletes Commission, Ida Hellström was elected by the athletes competing at the ISU World Synchronized Skating Championships 2019 in Helsinki (FIN).

Synchronized Skating results:

Total number of votes: 410 Total number of blank votes: 2

Number of votes for Ida Hellström (FIN): 278 Number of votes for Nathalie Lindqvist (SWE): 130

The following athletes are already members of the Athletes Commission:

- Single and Pair Skating <u>Eric Radford</u> (CAN)
- Speed Skating: Douwe de Vries (NED)
- Short Track Speed Skating Athlete: Zhou Yang (CHN)
- Ice Dance Athlete: Yuri Hulitski (BLR)

The above-mentioned athletes and Ida Hellström (FIN) are elected for the term lasting from the respective 2019 ISU World Championships to the respective 2023 ISU World Championships.

About the ISU Athletes Commission

The ISU Athletes Commission members are elected by secret ballot. All accredited Skaters at the respective ISU World Championships shall be entitled to cast one vote. The candidate with the highest number of votes obtained is elected. In case of a tie, new ballots will be distributed to all Skaters for a second round of election. The candidate with the highest number of votes obtained in the second ballot is elected.

For full details please refer to the ISU Constitution, Articles 21 and 36, as well as ISU Communication 2202