

June 10, 2022

Phuket, Thailand

ISU 58th Ordinary Congress Phuket 2022 Jae Youl Kim (KOR) elected as the new ISU President

On the last and decisive day of the 58th ISU Congress, the assembly elected with a total of 77 votes Mr. Jae Youl Kim (KOR), who becomes the 12th President and the first from outside Europe to take the helm of the International Skating Union. He succeeds Mr. Jan Dijkema (NED), who has been leading the federation over the past six years.

On June 10, in front of the Delegates of the ISU Congress, Mr. Jae Youl Kim from Korea presented his <u>Manifesto</u> for the position of ISU President and obtained the largest election score of 77 votes – well beyond the required majority of 60 votes. The three other candidates running for the position were: Ms. <u>Patricia St. Peter</u> from the USA (24 votes), Ms. <u>Susanna Rahkamo</u> from Finland (13 votes) and Mr. <u>Slobodan Delic</u> from Serbia (5 votes).

Mr. Kim starts his four-year mandate with the mission "Together, we can go further" and five priority areas of focus: Growth, Opportunity, Innovation, Safeguarding and Unity. His vision and program bring together these objectives into a clear goal: growing all ice skating sports with a forward-looking approach by reaching new fans, markets and young generations while safeguarding athletes and unity among ISU Members.

To support the new ISU President in the accomplishment of this strategic plan, the ISU Congress voted for the other key ISU Office Holders roles (<u>full list of candidates here</u>). Mr. Tron Espeli from Norway became the first Vice President Speed Skating while Mr. Benoit Lavoie from Canada was elected Vice President Figure Skating with a total of 55 votes. For each of these Branches, a team of five Council Members was also newly elected or re-elected, as detailed in the below list of results.

In addition, and for the first time in the history of the ISU, a Representative of the Athletes Commission joins the ISU Council. Mr. Eric Radford (CAN), Chair of the Athletes Commission, obtained 74 votes and therefore fills this new position on the Council.

Finally, the ISU Congress ended this election process by voting on the Chair and Members of the Disciplinary Commission as well as for the Technical Committees across all ice skating disciplines. The detailed results are listed below.

Honorary President Mr. Jan Dijkema closed the 58th ISU Congress in Phuket with a heartfelt and emotional speech.

Earlier in the day, the ISU Congress started with the Proposals regarding the General Regulations that were sent to the Branch Sessions for discussion but had to be voted by the full Congress session. The Delegates voted in favor of Proposals 16, 31, 36, 38. Proposals 17 and 18 were discussed during the Speed Skating Branch Session and presented to the full Congress. Both Proposals were accepted.

For further information on the ISU Congress, please visit our <u>dedicated page</u> which includes a summary of the most important proposals, the agenda, information on where to watch the Congress, a list of candidates for the different positions including for ISU President and more.



Election Results

ISU Council

President: Mr. Jae Youl KIM (KOR) 77 votes

First Vice President Speed Skating: Mr. Tron ESPELI (NOR)

The first Vice President Speed Skating was elected by acclamation.

Second Vice President Figure Skating: Mr. Benoit LAVOIE (CAN) 55 votes*

Speed Skating Council members: Ms. Suwanna SILPA-ARCHA (THA) 96 votes

Mr. Sergio ANESI (ITA) 90 votes
Mr. Stoytcho STOYTCHEV (BUL) 87 votes
Mr. Albert HAZELHOFF (NED) 75 votes
Mr. Alexander KIBALKO 63 votes*

Figure Skating Council members: Ms. Patricia ST. PETER (USA) 77 votes

Mr. Tatsuro MATSUMURA (JPN) 68 votes
Ms. Susanna RAHKAMO (FIN) 63 votes
Mr. György ELEK (HUN) 60 votes
Ms. Maria Teresa SAMARANCH (ESP) 36 votes*

Athlete Commission member: Mr. Eric RADFORD (CAN) 74 votes

Disciplinary Commission

Chair: Ms. Susan PETRICEVIC (NZL)

The Disciplinary Commission Chair was elected by acclamation.

Members Figure Skating: Mr. Allan BOHM (SVK) 77 votes

Mr. Eugen LARASSER (GER) 74 votes

Members Speed Skating: Mr. Jean-François MONNETTE (CAN) 93 votes

Mr. Keith KING (USA) 71 votes

Technical Committees

Short Track Speed Skating

Chair: Ms. Nathalie LAMBERT (CAN)

The Chair of the Short Track Speed Skating was elected by acclamation.

Members: Mr. Reinier OOSTHEIM (NED) 40 votes

Ms. So Hee KIM (KOR) 38 votes Mr. Christoph MILZ (GER) 29 votes



Speed Skating

Chair: Mr. Nick THOMETZ (USA) 30 votes

The Chair of the Speed Skating Technical Committee was elected by acclamation.

Members: Mr. Hanjo HEIDEMAN (NED) 27 votes

Mr. Oystein HAUGEN (NOR) 20 votes

Mr. Alexei KHATYLEV (BLR) 19 votes

Ice Dance

Chair: Mr. Shawn RETTSTATT (USA)

The Chair of the Ice Dance Technical Committee was elected by acclamation.

Members: Ms. Hilary SELBY (GBR) 47 votes

Mr. David MOLINA (FRA) 45 votes

Ms. Ingrid Charlotte WOLTER (GER) 35 votes

Synchronized Skating

Chair: Mr. Philippe Maitrot (FRA) 43 votes

Members: Ms. Petra TYRBO (SWE) 46 votes

Ms. Lois LONG (USA) 44 votes
Ms. Nina BISCHOFF (SUI) 39 votes

Single & Pair Skating

Members:

Following the decision of the 2018 Congress, the Single & Pair Skating Technical Committee consists of one Chair and four Members.

Chair: Mr. Fabio BIANCHETTI (ITA)

The Chair of the Single & Pair Skating Technical Committee was elected by acclamation.

The chair of the chigie a rail chairing recommed committee was discussed by accommission.

Ms. Leena LAAKSONEN (FIN) 40 votes
Ms. Yukiko OKABE (JPN) 37 votes
Ms. Emilie BILLOW (SWE) 33 votes*
Ms. Susan LYNCH (AUS) 30 votes*

Honorary Members

The following were elected as Honorary Members:

Honorary President: Mr. Jan DIJKEMA (NED)

Honorary Vice President: Mr. Alexander LAKERNIK (RUS)

Honorary Members: Ms. Marie LUNDMARK (FIN)

Mr. Roland MAILLARD (SUI) Mr. Volker WALDECK (GER) Ms. Béatrice PFISTER (SUI)

^{*}Elected after the second round of voting.



Stay connected with the ISU:

ISU Website: ISU News

ISU Congresses
Press Releases

ISU Newsletter: Subscribe to our <u>daily Newsletter</u> to get the latest news and press releases

Social Media:

You Tube

Skating ISU



@ISUFigureSkating /@isuspeedskating



@ISUFigureSkating /@ISUSpeedSkating @ISUShortTrackSpeedSkating



@international-skating-union



@isuskating



weibo.com/isuofficial



@ISU_Figure /@ISU_Speed

About International Skating Union

The International Skating Union (ISU), founded in 1892, is the oldest governing international winter sport federation and the exclusive international sport federation recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) administering the sports of Figure Skating (Single & Pair Skating and Ice Dance), Synchronized Skating, Speed Skating and Short Track Speed Skating worldwide. The objectives of the ISU are to regulate, govern, promote and develop its sports on the basis of friendship and mutual understanding between athletes. Currently three ISU disciplines are included in the Olympic Winter Games program (Figure Skating, Speed Skating and Short Track Speed Skating). For further information please visit isu.org.