Inzell / Germany

Douwe de Vries NED ©International Skating Union (ISU) 652059238

Douwe de Vries (NED) ©International Skating Union (ISU)

Today Douwe de Vries from the Netherlands was elected to the ISU Athletes Commission as the Speed Skating representative.

Further to the decision of the 56th ISU Ordinary Congress 2016 in Dubrovnik (CRO) to introduce an ISU Athletes Commission, de Vries was elected by the athletes competing at the ISU World Single Distances Speed Skating Championships 2019 in Inzell (GER).

Speed Skating results:

Total number of votes: 51

Total number of blank votes: 0

Number of votes for Douwe de Vries (NED): 40
Number of votes for Vitali Mikhailau (BLR): 11

As there was only one nomination for Ice Dance and one nomination for Short Track Speed Skating these nominated athletes will be automatically elected to the Athletes Commission:

The above-mentioned athletes and Douwe de Vries are elected for the term lasting from the respective 2019 ISU World Championships to the respective 2023 ISU World Championships.